Department Q – cast announcements as filming takes place in Scotland – episodes written by Stephen Greenhorn

Department Q is an upcoming series adaptation of Jussi Adler-Olsen’s popular crime novels, for Left Bank Pictures and Netflix, written by Scott Frank, Stephen Greenhorn, Chandni Lakhani and Colette Kane.

Matthew Goode will play DCI Carl Morck, whose life turns upside down after a violent incident. Upon his return to work, the emotionally scarred detective is charged with setting up a cold case unit, Department Q. At first, the disillusioned cop is happy to waste his days away, but his detective instincts are ultimately reawakened, and his new department becomes a magnet for a crew of misfits and mavericks.

Chloe Pirrie plays ruthless and ambitious prosecutor Merrit Lingard, and Kelly Macdonald takes the role of Dr. Rachel Irving, a therapist tasked with getting officers back on the front line. Alexej Manvelov is Syrian cop Akram Salim, who was forced to flee to Europe and ultimately becomes part of the new department, and Leah Byrne will play Rose, a star police cadet looking for a chance to prove herself.

The cast of Department Q also includes Mark Bonnar, Shirley Henderson, Jamie Sives and Kate Dickie.

Filming is taking place in Edinburgh, where the series will be set.

Stephen Greenhorn is represented by by Frances Arnold.